Not Lost! On an Adventure.

A collection of travel and life related neurotic ramblings by yours truly.

Movie Night (or 2)

on May 13, 2013

I haven’t been to a movie in a long time, which not only saves money in the present but keeps me from watching commercials for other awesome movies coming out in the future. If I don’t know about it, I won’t want it!

That all changed when I saw 2 movies in the span of about 10 days, therefore subjecting myself to the irresistible allure of buttery popcorn and new movie trailers. Not only do I now have 3 or 4 movies on my ‘to see’ list, but am still digging popcorn kernels out of my teeth.

Now, this post might contain some movie spoilers so if you haven’t seen Iron Man 3 or the Great Gatsby, turn back now and go watch kitten videos on YouTube.

Ok!

Iron Man 3 was unexpectedly awesome. I laughed a lot and enjoyed the variety of action and explosions that occurred in addition to Tony Stark/Robert Downey, Junior’s snarky wit. What brought out my inner nerd, however, was the foreign policy allusions sprinkled throughout the film (most of which I have forgotten in the time between seeing the movie and writing this, but that saves you a synopsis of the whole movie as told by me so there you go). My favorite was the (SPOILER ALERT) villain who, upon stringing up the film’s US President on board a broken oil tanker ship, justifies his actions by revealing that this tanker spilled a bunch of oil in the ocean and the people responsible were protected from any punishment by the president, who refused to pass certain legislation regarding the environment and oil safety measures. Sound familiar?

Villains are villains for a reason, but anyone who watches the news or reads the paper (or simply looks around them) will see that sometimes villains comes from unexpected places. Sometimes they are the stereotypical baddie with the rotten past and evil in his eyes, and sometimes they are the leaders of our economy, businesses, or even our country. These people are not infallible based on their position.

In the end the president is saved, of course, but the impact on myself remained. Anarchy in this case made sense- the President allowed those in charge of the tanker leak go free while ordinary people had to deal with the very real and unpleasant consequences. I’m not saying we burn the BP executives at the stake or anything, but the punishment fits the crime.

Another part of Iron Man I found interesting was the invention of the Iron Patriot or War Machine Iron Man suit. At one point Colonel Rhodes, as the mascot for this new weaponized suit, blasts into a camp somewhere in Pakistan and interrupts a family dinner. The drone allusion wasn’t lost on me- drones that the US has flying over the skies of the world routinely kill innocent civilians in the quest for suspected terrorists. He then bursts into a garment factory where women in black burkas are sewing material- granted, he finds a blond and blue eyed terrorist in disguise there, all the while carrying on a conversation on his cell phone and trying to communicate with the women in English (I’m sorry, but if they are garment workers in Pakistan they probably don’t speak English. Can’t the Iron Man suits have a built in translator or something?). It bothered me a lot.

Movie commercials I saw and then decided ‘I WANT!’ = The Fast and the Furious number 6- more explosions, more fast cars, and more hot individuals running around driving said fast cars and causing explosions. What more could you want?!

Star Trek- no explanation needed. Just yes.

Secondly I was taken to The Great Gatsby with my friends, all dressed up and ready to revel in the ridiculousness that was the 1920s and F. Scott Fitzgerald’s raucous imagination. I had read the book in high school and still have my copy, but like most things in high school I’ve forgotten most of it as a matter of a psychological protection mechanism.

The movie itself was well made and the acting was great. The colors, music, and story line all blended together to emphasize the secrecy of life back then as well as the grandiose nature in which people behaved. Of course there were those in the 20s that didn’t get caught up in the stock market or have the ability to rely on their family’s old money to get them somewhere, but books don’t get written about ordinary people. This little piece of history was a stunning commentary on the ridiculousness of the New York area and just how much things can go wrong.

Nick Carroway, the author in the book/film who writes about Gatsby, is annoyingly observant (as writers usually are) and spends most of the movie drinking and being an awkward third wheel. All the characters, from Tom Buchanen’s mistress to her husband to Jay Gatsby himself were stunningly delusional when it came to their lives and the people around them. Everyone had secrets, and everyone was busy screwing over someone else while downing bottles of champagne and throwing lavish parties. I knew the movie was good because I walked out just as frustrated at all the characters as I did in high school with the book! The music was also interesting, mixing a blend of 1920s era jazz with more modern songs. That got a bit distracting, but I liked the effect.

Well there you go. If you haven’t seen Iron Man 3 or The Great Gatsby, I would recommend both. Until my next film watching spree I will be outside enjoying the summer sun with a good book!

 

Leave a Reply

